Board of Directors

Eric Zaunscherb  

Chairman (1, 2, 3, 4, 5) §

Eric Zaunscherb is a Canadian geologist with over 32 years, and 6 cycles, of experience as a mining analyst.

Jean-Sébastien Lavallée  

Chief Executive Officer & Director

Jean-Sébastien Lavallée, P. Geo, has been the Chief Executive Officer of the Company since 2010.

Steffen Haber  

President & Director

Dr. Haber is the President of the Company since January 2017. He was President and Chief Executive Officer of Rockwood Lithium GmbH when Chemetall GmbH was legally split off in 2012.

Marcus Brune  

Vice President Finance & Director

Dr. Brune was Chief Financial Officer of Rockwood Lithium from 2011 until the acquisition by Albemarle in 2015. He left once the lithium business was successfully integrated into Albemarle.

Marc Simpson  

Director (1, 2*, 5) §

Mr. Marc Simpson is President and Chief Executive Officer of Vanadian Energy Corp. Mr. Simpson has worked in the mining and exploration industry for over 33 years.

Matthew Lauriston Starnes  

Director (3*, 4, 5) §

Matthew Lauriston Starnes is a lawyer with over 22 years of experience. Mr. Starnes is currently a consultant lawyer based in Tokyo specializing in mining law, working on several projects.

Ani Markova

Director (1, 3, 4*) §
Ani Markova has over 25 years of experience in global capital markets, including a successful investment career managing up to $2 billion of mutual fund assets.

Maysa Habelrih

Director (2, 4, 5*) §
Maysa Habelrih is a results-oriented executive and board director who leverages her global experience and track record of operational excellence, transformation of organizations, and growth.

Vanessa Laplante

Director (1*, 2, 3) §
Vanessa Laplante has over 32 years of experience in management, finance, and taxation, including 18 years in the mining industry. She is a leader in her specialized field, mining taxation.

1. Audit
2. Compensation
3. Governance and Nominating
4. Environmental and social responsibility
5. Technical
*  Chair of Committee
§  Independent Director


Nathalie Laurin

Secretary and Chief Financial Officer

Nathalie Laurin has over 30 years of experience in administration and accounting. The experience gained through working in various roles with increasing responsibilities.

Yves Perron  

Vice-President Engineering, Construction and Operations

Mr. Yves Perron, Eng., MBA brings extensive experience in mining sector, engineering and construction in Québec to the Corporation.

Operation Team

Hughes Périgny, P.Eng  

Senior Project Director

Mr. Hughes Périgny, P.Eng. has over 29 years of experience in engineering, construction and project management in the industrial and mining sectors.

Michel Clément, P.Eng., PMP  

Senior Project Control Director

Mr. Michel Clément, P.Eng., PMP has a vast experience in project control and risk analysis acquired in Québec and internationally.

Andy Fortin  

Senior Process and Commissioning Director

Mr. Andy Fortin holds a bachelor’s degree in Metallurgical Engineering from Laval University in Québec City. Mr. Fortin brings to the Company a solid operational experience.

Sébastien Perreault  

Senior Director, Storage facilities, Mines and Camp

Mr. Sébastien Perreault has over 25 years of experience in open-pit mining operations and mining project management both in Quebec and abroad.

Nancy Duquet-Harvey  

Senior Director of Sustainable Development and Environment

Ms. Duquet-Harvey has over 25 years’ experience in environmental studies, environmental monitoring and working closely with local aboriginal groups.

Lloyd Mayappo  

Cree relation coordinator

Mr. Lloyd Mayappo has more than 30 years of experience as a foreman, project manager and contact person within the Eastmain Cree Nation.